Archive for July 21st, 2009

Yes, this is a Smoking Establishment

July 21, 2009

D'Ag's Bar SignDonna and I went for a drive Sunday to the Ottsville Inn in northern Bucks County. I remember seeing ads for it  Bucks County Hearld and always wanted to go but when we got there is was closed.

Ottsville Inn signSo we ended up at D’Ag’s just down the 611 from the Ottsville Inn. The first thing I noticed on the way in was a sign that said “Yes, this is a Smoking Establishment”. So OK Dorthy we may not be in Kansas any more. LOL. This was not a restaurant, this was a Bar and proud of it.

 It was dark inside but despite the warning, actually not smokey at all.  The U-Shaped Bar was full of regulars and competative game of skeet ball was underway. It reminder me of the U sharped bar at the Pineville Tavern just a little bigger.  Donna and I found our way to a table in the middle area of the bar and sat down. We reviewed the one page menu and checked out the Happy Hour Complementry Kielbasa & Kraut and Perogies. Donna opted for the Amgus Burger and I went for the Hot Wing.

D'Ag's Angus BurgerDonna’s Burger was a great bar burger. Cheap, tasty and fast. The toasted bun arrived with a char-grilled 4 ounch patty with some decent processed cheese. The burger comes with choice of ketchup or no ketchup but you can get French Fries instead of chips. It was a working man’s burger in a working man’s bar.

D'Ag's Chicken WingsI went for the Chicken Wings. The waitress advised they came as either BBQ or Hot but I could get the Hot Sauce on the side. She made it seem like they were going to burn my mouth off so I decided to go with the sauce on the side. The wings arrived quickly as good bar food does. I was surprised that they order came with Baby Carrots when virtually every other places we had wings didn’t offer carrots. The medium sized wings we nice and crispy, just like I like them. The Hot Sauce was actually pertty mild and basically the classic butter and commerical hot sauce mixed together. I found the sauce a little runny but mild enough for me. The Blue Cheese Dressing was very good with some good cheese chunks on the bottom of the sauce. A good mayo based sauce that matched with sweet chicken meat. A good wing and at a great bar price.  For other wing suggestions, check out the Best of Bucks County – Wings page.

My fellow bloggers at Bucks County Taste have a great post on what makes up a great bar and based on their criteria I think  D’Ag’s would score pretty high although I didn’t see a lot of bourbon being consumed.  I think D’Ag’s is a Cool Bar and I can’t wait to go there for an Eagles Game cause I gotta believe the place with rock.

Oh head’s up they take only cash

D’Ag’s, 7349 Easton Road, Pipersville PA 18947                       215-766-9605