Cry, ‘Havoc!’ and let slip the dogs of war*

Still in Shakespeare mode from earlier in the week, so we made Caesar Salad for supper.  Alas the irony that the Casear Salad was not served to the Roman leader in ancient Rome but rather by a restauranter in Tijuana Mexico in the 1920’s. 

My personal history with the Caesar Salad began shortly after I started my first sales position with Searle Canada. It was the 80’s and those were the days of big hair, big red meat and big red wines. At our District Sales meeting, tradition had it that the second course was Caesar Salad.  The salad was prepared table side and there was much bravado over how much garlic and hot sauce the wait staff would put into the salad to meet the needs of my fellow salesmen. My favourite salad was prepared at the Old Orchard Inn in Greenwich, Nova Scotia. After many District Sales Meetings, Bob McAdam taught me his recipe for Caesar Salad and to this day I make my version very close to the one Bob taught me.

Caesar Salad

I make the dressing for the salad based on the number of people planning to eat the salad.  For each person, I mash a garlic glove on the bottom of our wooden salad bowl with some kosher salad to make a paste. One teaspoon of Dijon mustard is added to the garlic paste, along with one large egg yoke and the juice of one half a lemon. One half of a teaspoon of Worstershire and hot sauce is added along with a tablespoon of red wine vinegar.  Freshly ground pepper is added to taste and the mixture is wisked as olive oil is added.  The amount of olive oil depends on how much visocity you like with your dressing so wisk and pour to your own liking.  Bit sizes pieces of romain lettuce are tossed into the dressing. I recommend a quarter of a head per person for a dinner salad.  Two slices of bacon per person should be crumbed and placed in the salad bowl. I like lots of coutons so I toss a half of a cup of croutons, homemade if you have the time.  Finally a quarter cup of freshly gratted Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese is added to the salad bowl.  The dressing, lettuce, cheese, bacon and crouton are tossed and finally seasoned with some salt and pepper.  After I portion out the dinner salads I ususally place some additional cheese and ground pepper on each plate along  a squeeze of lemon and a slice of lemon for garnish.

So far, most people enjoy this a recipe and it scales for larger numbers of dinner salads or as appetizer salads. Let me know your recipe and if you try this version in the reply box below.  Looking forward to your input.

*W. Shakespeare. Jules Ceasar Act 3 Scene 1 Line 268

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Cry, ‘Havoc!’ and let slip the dogs of war*”

  1. Sherman Says:

    Peter,

    I love the real bacon that you put on top of the salad. I bet it tastes fabulous, since they are in such large pieces. A lot of bacon flavour!

    • peterjustason Says:

      Thanks for the comment Sherman. There is a lot of bacon flavour with the big pieces but the cheese and garlic match well. My kids love the big pieces and they make the salad very satisfying and filling. You gotta love that pork.

  2. Polina Says:

    I’ve heard rumblings about egg, sometimes raw (!!!!)(???) put in it….

    • peterjustason Says:

      I have been doing this salad for years and never had a problem. We get our eggs at local high volume stores, refrigerate them until we use them and make sure the egg shells are clean before we use them. It should be pretty safe that way. I think the flavour is worth the risk but you could coddle the egg a bit if you are really worried.

  3. Survey Says III « Peter’s Food Adventures Says:

    […] Favourite Salad – Caesar Salad is the winner by a landslide with  Waldorf, Pear/Blue Cheese and Tossed/Garden in a tie for second place.  I love my Caesar Salad dressing and wrote about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

